My Intimidating TBR Tag

A big thanks to Carrianne @ Cuppa Critiques who tagged me to do this post!

What book have you been unable to finish?

I’ve been”reading” George R. R. Martin’s A Feast for Crows for about a year now. I’m halfway through and just haven’t been able to motivate myself to pick it back up—probably because I know even if I do finish I’m going to have to wait forever for the sixth and seventh books in the series.

What book have you yet to read because you just haven’t had the time?

I really want to read Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series. I finished the first book a couple months ago and I just haven’t had the time to read the rest of the books, which is understandable because there’s a bunch and they’re huge.

mime orderWhat book have you yet to read because it’s a sequel?

I hate leaving series unfinished, but Samantha Shannon’s The Mime Order is a sequel on my TBR that I’m not sure I’m going to get to. I read the first book in the series The Bone Season—which you can read my review for here—and I wasn’t super into it until end but I don’t know if it was good enough for me to continue.

What book have you yet to read because it’s a new release?

I just bought Renee Ahdieh’s The Rose & The Dagger—which came out in late April—I haven’t started it because I haven’t read the first book The Wrath & The Dawn. I’ve heard so many great things about this duology so I’m hoping to get to it soon.

What book have you yet to read because you read a book by the same author and didn’t like it?

I honestly don’t know if there’s an author I’ve disliked. I think here I’m just kind of going to recycle an answer and say The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon because I was iffy about the first book in the series.

What book have you yet to read because you aren’t in the mood?

I recently acquired Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone, and I think I’m going to take a while to get to it. I just finished The Lunar Chronicles series and it felt like such a huge undertaking that I’m trying to stay away from world building books at the moment and stick more to contemporaries.

throne of glassWhat book have you yet to read because it’s humongous?

I’m going to say Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass and just that whole series. It’s supposed to be so good, but there are so many books and they get pretty long. I just have so many huge series half started that I can’t afford another one.

What book have you yet to read because it was a cover buy with bad reviews?

This was part cover buy but also part author buy, Hopeless by Colleen Hoover. I’ve heard so many great things about Colleen so when I saw Hopeless on Book Outlet I thought why not. Since then I’ve seen some like eh reviews as well as a bad one from a BookTuber I trust, so we’ll see when I get to it.

Which book on your TBR is the most intimidating to you?

I’m actually really intimidated by Junot Diaz’s The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao. My boyfriend got it for me in February for my birthday because I had been talking about it for awhile. I’m intimidated by it because besides for class I haven’t read a lot of literary fiction recently, and even when I have I haven’t loved it and I really want to love this book.

I Tag:

I’ve seen this tag for a while now so if I tag you and you’ve already done it I’m sorry. Also if you see this and haven’t done the tag but want to feel free to.

Joey @ Another Afterthought  Cara @ Periods and Semicolons  Lila @ The Bookkeeper’s Secrets  Sara @ Freadom Library  Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much  Jaed @ The Bibliophile Blogs  Sarah & Sophie @ The Little Contemporary Corner  Vivian @ Inked In Pages  Fadwa @ Word Wonders  Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads

2 thoughts on “My Intimidating TBR Tag

  1. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    I relate to so many of your answers! I haven’t even been able to open the first GoT book 😅 I don’t plan on reading Outlander, but it still terrifies me. And YESSS at Throne of Glass/Sarah J. Maas. I’m really intimidated by that series because it’s so much to commit too and it’s so loved and I’m scared I won’t like it :/

    Like

  2. Hannah Ens says:

    I like coming into a series that already has several books out so I don’t have to wait, but it’s definitely a “hold your breath” moment whenever I start reading, or more specifically, committing my wallet to buying them. My friend just started City of Bones and wants to read Throne of Glass, so between those two series she’s signing up for at least 15 books, several of which are literally the size of bricks! That’s probably why I’ve never dived into Terry Pratchett’s Discworld (much to the chagrin of my brother), because that’s 40, and my TBR list is already as long as my arm. *hyperventilates and possibly passes out* *send help*

    Like

Leave a Reply

