Review: Lauren Morrill’s Meant to Be

Title: Meant to Bemeant to be
Author: 
Lauren Morrill 
Genre: 
Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary
Publication Date: November 13, 2012
Pages: 
292
Publisher:
Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Rating:

purple3.5

Julia is beyond excited for her junior class trip to London, that is until she’s partnered with her personal nemesis Jason. Because she’s the type of girl who sticks to the rules, carries extra pencils and a pocket Shakespeare. And Jason, well he’s the type of boy who breaks every rule imaginable.

After a wild party, Julia starts receiving romantic texts from an unknown number. And while she doesn’t envision him as her Meant to Be—that’s reserved for her childhood crush Mark—Julia thinks it might be good practice. Jason promises to help her uncover the identity of her mystery suitor, with the catch that she needs to break a couple rules along the way.

I love contemporary romances set abroad, so I was excited to read Lauren Morrill’s Meant to Be.

Julia is unlike any other young adult contemporary protagonist I’ve read, and I really connected with her. She’s type A, semi-sheltered, and controlling. But on this trip she starts to let her hair down a bit, and seeing her break some rules was a lot of fun. Sometimes though, I felt like some of the stuff they did was a little too much and wanted more of a middle ground. I don’t know, maybe I’m just too much of a goody two shoes. 

She also has this seemingly unwavering belief of a Meant to Be, or MBT. Julia’s so sure that her MBT is her childhood crush Mark, who recently moved back to town. Yet, I like how her idea of a MBT starts to change as she texts the mystery man and spends time with Jason.

“I want toe-curlingly awesome kisses. One-of-a-kind kisses from a one-of-a-kind boy”

Jason was a really fun character. At the beginning he comes off as super immature and irresponsible. He runs away to parties, and hits on every girl in sight, and teases Julia. But all of that is very surface, as the novel progresses the reader as well as Julia get a better look at different facets of his personality. That being said, the whole aspect of a boy teasing a girl is very elementary school and makes Jason come across as somewhat stereotypical.

The text messages at the top of each chapter were a nice addiction. Sometimes I had trouble following the conversation from one chapter to another, so I ended up flipping back a lot. Another issue I had was that I easily guessed what was going to happen after reading only a couple chapters. I mean I still enjoyed it; I just wish it was a little less predictable.

All in all, Meant to Be is a light, cute, and fun contemporary—perfect for summertime. You can find it on Amazon and the author Lauren Morrilll at laurenmorrill.com. Give it a read and let me know what you think in the comments. Plus leave recommendations for my next book!

One thought on “Review: Lauren Morrill’s Meant to Be

Leave a Reply

