Top 5 Wednesday: Least Favorite Books in Your Favorite Series

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Lainey from gingerreadslainey posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is your five least favorite books in your favorite series. That being said, these are all still really great stories.

Check out my top five picks below and let me know what you think in the comments!

1. Bitterblue (Graceling Realm #3) by Kristin Cashorebitterblue

I enjoyed being back in the Graceling world—and it was nice to revisit Bitterblue as a character—but the series’ first book will always be my favorite. Cashore delivered another kick-ass female with Bitterblue, but I found the romance a little disappointing.

2. Allegiant (Divergent #3) by Veronica Roth

I mean that ending. I could see it coming since Roth introduced a duel perspective, but I’ll still never get over it. Plus, the setting of beyond the wall didn’t live up to the city in my mind.

3. The Heir (The Selection #4) by Kiera Cass

The dynamic of this book was very different than the rest of the series. There wasn’t as much romantic tension since Eadlyn wasn’t competing for anyone, but instead was being competed for.  The same goes for political tension, there’s some unrest but it doesn’t seem as high stakes as the original trilogy. I mean I just really loved America and Maxon. 

lola and the boy next door4. Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna and the French Kiss #2) by Stephanie Perkins

Lola and the Boy Next Door was kind of a let down after Anna and the French Kiss. I just didn’t connect with Lola as well as Anna, and let’s be honest not many boys can measure up to Étienne St. Clair.

5. Mockingjay (The Hunger Games #3) by Suzanne Collins

For me, Catching Fire was a tough act to follow. Mockingjay was the first book not in the game, and without that setting it just seemed a little slow at times—especially in the beginning of just being stuck in District 13.

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Least Favorite Books in Your Favorite Series

  1. Cate says:

    I’m about to start Bitterblue and this is the first time I’ve seen someone say that the 3rd book is their least favorite. It’s usually always Fire.

    Like

    • lparadis17 says:

      I enjoyed Fire a lot, it’s different because it’s not exactly in the Graceling realm. I also really love Bitterblue, but for me it was hard to live up to Katsa and Po.

      Like

  2. Gel says:

    Yeah, I’ve also considered Mockingjay on my list (because it was just ugh), but I remembered THG trilogy is not one of my fave series. This is a lovely post! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

