Tuesday Tunes: A Very She & Him Christmas

SheHim_Spread
The holiday season is here.

And one of my favorite things to do this time of year is listen to Christmas music, like 24/7. My go-to album is A Very She & Him Christmas. The She & Him duo, comprised of doe-eyed Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward, take on 12 holiday classics: “Baby, It’s Cold Outside,” “Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree,” “The Christmas Waltz” and “Silver Bells” just to name a few.

The album has a softer and folksier feel than most Christmas albums do, but it works. Check below for a rundown of my favorites from the album.

“Baby, It’s Cold Outside”

She & Him’s rendition of this classic Christmas duet is perfect. They really make the song their own: changing up the tempo and melody. Additionally, they completely gender swap the lyrics. Instead of the song being about a woman on her way out, Deschanel tries her best to persuade her beau to stay the night.

“I’ll Be Home for Christmas”

This was the song that first attracted me to the album. It popped up on my Pandora playlist, and I just couldn’t help wanting to hear more. lt’s slow, almost trance-like, and completely beautiful.

“Blue Christmas” 

“Blue Christmas” has always been one of my favorite holiday songs, partially because I associate it with my favorite Christmas movies The Year Without A Santa Clause. 

What’s your favorite carol off the album?

Remember to check me out on my social media accounts:

Goodreads

Twitter

Instagram

LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

